Immigrants is made up of 50 states.

Washington DC, the capital of the United States is situated on the Potomaac River in the District of Columbia (DC). The district is a piece of land which doesn’t belong to any state but to all the states. All the states have their own state government.

The USA occupies a large territory and is situated in the central and southern part of North America.

The USA is washed by the Atlantic ocean to the east and by the Pacific ocean to the west. In the north, the USA shares borders with Canada and to the south with Mexico.

The USA is divided into three areas: The eastern area is a highland, the central area is a plain and is mountainous including the Rocky Mountains and the Sierra Nevada. There are five great lakes in the northern part of the USA. They are: Lakes Huron, Michigan, Superior, Ontario and Erie. They are connected by fast rivers.

One of the 7 Natrual Wonders of North America is a colossal series of waterfalls, Niagara Falls, located and shared with New York State’s border with Canada.

The Mississippi River together with its tributary Missouri is the longest river in the world. Mountain ranges cross the country from north to south.

The USA has a continental climate. The USA is a highly-developed industrial country. Large reserves of oil, coal, iron and other minerals are a solid base of resources for American industrial development.

Heavy industry prevails in the USA, including such fields as mining, metallurgical, engineering, chemical and hi-tech industries.

Editor’s note-Please note that hi-tech industries are not heavy industry, they are light industry.

The USA has also well-developed light industry which includes textile, tanning and footwear, consumer electronics and hi-tech industries. The food industry is well developed too. Both animal husbandry and farming takes a prominent place in the economy of the USA.

Under the Constitution,

the federal government is divided into three branches. The Congress is vested with legislative power and is made up of two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives. There are 435 members in the House of Representatives and 100 senators in the Senate. Each state elects two members of the Senate.

The executive branch is headed by the President, who proposes bills to Congress, and who serves as commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces. The President is chosen in national elections every 4 years. The second leader in the executive branch is the Vice President. The Vice President is elected from the same political party as the President The judicial branch consists of Federal District Courts, 11 Federal Courts and the Supreme Court. Federal judges are appointed by the President. Federal courts decide cases involving federal law, and conflicts between citizens of different states. The Constitution is the most important document in the USA. The Constitution has been amended 26 times. The Bill of Rights guarantees individual liberties: freedom of speech, freedom of religion, freedom of movement, freedom of association, to name a few.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)